Broccoli, big moon and hay bales

After steaming this head of broccoli from the garden for supper, drizzled with olive oil and a squeeze of lemon, Dizzy and I went for a walk.  It is almost full moon tonight and my friend Leslé has already sent me a howling text message to remind me to enjoy it.  We wandered up the hill.  The bare winter trees cast interesting moonlight shadows on the road and the fallen leaves rustle and swirl about us.  The donkeys were lying huddled together near the tractor, which looks pink in this light.  At the top of the hill, we hip-hopped onto some hay bales and settled down to enjoy the evening and the long view down the valley.  Across the fence, horses (about 20) stood quietly, casting sharp shadows and breathing steadily. I guess they sleep standing up? Snuggled in the warmth of the hay we hear jackals calling across the hills. They seem so close. They probably are. Dizzy sits up straight and pricks up his ears. I wish I had had my camera with me, but also know how precious it is to simply be in the moment rather than trying to capture everything. I make a note to gather some damp hay to mulch my new veggie bed in the morning, before wandering back down through the farmyard to bed. Oh, but I posted this first.

2 thoughts on “Broccoli, big moon and hay bales

  1. julia says:

    Yes Nikki, Horses do sleep standing up. It is a protective mechanism with predator around. They simply cross and lock their tendons over their knee cap and therefore can rest their muscles whilst sleeping standing up. Amazing! I want to see your freshly mulched vege garden.

    Like

  2. Bridget Ringdahl says:

    Lovely description! Broccoli has been my one garden success so far, I prepare it just like you , nothing nicer! Was mulching with my tons of fallen leaves yesterday. Bed soon ready for planting…

    Like

Leave a Reply

